top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKasey Krause

Episode 1: An Introduction

Updated: Mar 20, 2019


Let me start off by saying this: I like to think I’m funny. Be it because of my morbid sense of humor or because everyone is laughing at and not with me. I also like to think I am creative. Out of the two, I can definitely say I am the latter. But that whole “funny” thing, well. Let’s just say it’s probably not very true. In this series of blog posts you’re going to read a lot of bad jokes and a lot of what may seem like whining (and it probably is). But I assure you, I mean well and am trying to do my part to provide a sense of community among people in similar situations as me. It’s nice to know you’re not alone.

I’m 25, turning 26 on June 22nd/2019. This is to say that my physical appearance is 25/26. My body, however, runs at the same level as an 82 year old’s. When I was 11 I was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes. If you don’t know much about diabetes, Type 1 basically means hyperglycemia (high blood sugar) and therefore insulin dependent. As a child it was extremely nerve wracking to be introduced to daily injections and finger pricks. You get your big, round ass I cried. But if I thought that sucked, oh boy was I in for a treat in my adult years. For the last three and a half years, I have been living with Diabetic Gastroparesis.

Gastroparesis is exactly what it sounds like. A paralyzed stomach. Delayed gastric emptying. Digestive tract paralysis. What this means for me is a lot of nausea, vomiting, abdominal pain, bloating, cluster headaches, malnourishment, erratic blood sugar levels, depression and anxiety. Some medications help and two years ago I turned to medicinal marijuana as the pills just weren’t cutting it. I’ve always enjoyed a little puff here and there but my LORD did being on medicinal cannabis make a world of difference in my symptoms. Many of my blog posts will be pertaining to gastroparesis, diabetes, and all the bullshit that comes along with it.

Another topic I will be writing about is mental health. This part of the blog stems from a somewhat selfish need to vent but also to provide a reminder that, if you’re feeling sad or anxious or depressed, you aren’t alone and should reach out for any support you can find. Mental health has such a terrible stigma around it and I’m sick of letting it control my life. As I learn and grow myself I will be posting tips & tricks that I have found helpful in coping with chronic illness and mental health and how they can feed off of each other in negative ways.

Please be warned that I intend on discussing some topics such as abuse and sexual violence. Sexual violence is something that I and millions of other women deal with on an almost daily basis. There is a lot of work to do surrounding equality, women’s rights, and bodily autonomy and talking about it is a great way to promote change. It’s time for a goddamn revolution!

Lastly, I hope to inspire you guys to ask questions, seek help, whatever you think you need. Although I started this blog on the recommendation of a friend to help me release some of my feelings. I’d love to hear from you guys and try to answer any questions you may have. In the near future I will do a quick summary post of who I am, what my interests are and how I handle the loss of the person I was before illness.


Stay hydrated. Be Kind.

Kasey.




56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page